It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
AD 202: Corps Financial Management / Manejo Financiero del Cuerpo
This substantial resource offers pastors and church leaders practical insight into the daily issues of running a church. Conceived and compiled by the editors of Leadership journal, this book covers the full spectrum of ministry practice. Readers will learn about perennial topics such as time management, negotiating the terms of a call, handling crisis and conflict, hiring and managing staff, conducting special fund drives, spending church money, and dealing with tax and law considerations. This revised and expanded edition of a proven ministry resource contains new contributions from prominent ministry leaders. Contributors include Leith Anderson, Rick Warren, Brian McLaren, Luis Palau, John Ortberg, Aubrey Malphurs, and many others.
Money is a key issue in today's Christian faith communities but it can be a touchy subject to address. With this book, pastors and clergy finally have a practical resource for managing money in the church. Ministry and Moneyserves as an excellent primer on accounting practices, church financial reports, and church budgets. Throughout, the authors provide real-life examples to help clarify basic approaches to issues of money.
The purpose of this book is to provide momentum to a movement aimed at the heart of every person who is involved in the process of raising money or giving money for the work of God s Kingdom. You may be a full-time development officer, an executive director, a pastor, a president, a board member, a volunteer or a faithful giver. You may have decades of experience in fund development, or this may be the first exposure to this topic. If you care about giving or raising money for God s work, this book is for you. This movement is a realignment of priorities that places changed hearts above changed bank balances. It is a new order that seeks to develop faithful stewards whose hearts are rich toward God. It redefines development work as ministry in the Kingdom of God. And it replaces manipulative techniques and closing strategies with a dependence on prayer and relationship building as the essential tools for success. All that sowers can do is sow faithfully and wait and hope and believe. Sowers cannot play God and cause the seeds to grow. All they can do, and must do, is sow faithfully and regularly and trust God for the increase.
Today pastors and church leaders have an unparalleled opportunity to shape a biblical vision for Kingdom giving. Based on the foundational premise that stewardship is the management of time, talents, and treasure, authors Stan Toler and Elmer Towns set forth a vision for pastors and church leaders to shape the thinking in the pews. Developing a Giving Church provides guidance for shaping a giving environment, suggestions for developing committed steward leaders, and counsel on biblical strategies. This vital stewardship resource merges insightful principles with proven methods for creating a climate for giving through stewardship education.
The Salvation Army. (n.d.). Corps accounting and policy and procedure guide.
The Salvation Army. (n.d.). USA Eastern Territory minute book. Retrieved from Lotus Notes Database.
Discover how the joy of giving can make your life richer, starting today. Bestselling author Randy Alcorn introduced readers to a revolution in material freedom and radical generosity with the release of the original The Treasure Principle in 2001. Now the revision to the compact, perennial bestseller includes a provocative new concluding chapter depicting God asking a believer questions about his stewardship over material resources. Jesus spent more time talking about money and possessions than about heaven and hell combined. But too often we've overlooked or misunderstood his most profound teaching on this topic, from his words in Matthew 6. Jesus offers us life-changing investment advice. He actually wants us to store up treasures for ourselves--just not here on earth. Instead, he urges us to store our treasure in heaven, where they will await us, and last forever. We can't take it with us--but we can send it on ahead! Readers are moved from the realms of thoughtful Bible exposition into the highly personal arena of everyday life. Because when Jesus told His followers to "lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven," He intended that they discover an astounding secret: how joyful giving brings God maximum glory and His children maximum pleasure. In The Treasure Principle, you'll unearth a radical teaching of Jesus--a secret wrapped up in giving. Once you discover this secret, life will never look the same. And you won't want it to be. "Supercharged with stunning, divine truth! Lightning struck over and over as I read it." - John Piper, Senior Pastor, Bethlehem Baptist Church, Minneapolis
This practical and refreshing theology of money contains topical and Scripture indexes, a study guide, and five helpful appendixes.Randy Alcorn presents a biblical and comprehensive view of money and possessions, including the following: Why is money so important to God? How can we be liberated from materialism? What should we do about debt? How much does God want us to give? What about gambling? Investing? Insurance? Saving? Retirement? Inheritance? Who wants to settle for fleeting treasures on earth . . . when God offers everlasting treasures in heaven? It's time to rethink our perspectives on money and possessions. In this thoroughly researched classic, Randy Alcorn shows us how to view these things accurately―as God's provision for our good, the good of others, and his glory.About the AuthorRandy Alcorn is an author and the founder and director of Eternal Perspective Ministries, a nonprofit ministry dedicated to teaching principles of God's Word and assisting the church in ministering to unreached, unfed, unborn, uneducated, unreconciled, and unsupported people around the world. A New York Timesbestselling author of over 50 books, including Heaven, The Treasure Principle, If God Is Good, Happiness, and the award-winning novel Safely Home, his books sold exceed eleven million copies and have been translated into over seventy languages. Randy resides in Oregon with his wife, Nanci.
Money management is the art and science of developing and carrying out a spending plan. The author has written a true 'everything-you-need-to-know' guide to sound and healthy money management-from the most basic accounting principles to sample forms and ledgers, computer tips, filing systems and more. It's a book that proves church finances don't have to be tedious, complicated and confusing.
Here for the first time is a truly spiritual way of looking atfundraising as an opportunity to nurture current and prospectivedonors and facilitate their growth in faith. Growing Givers' Heartsexplores how development staff, executives, and board members fromacross the theological spectrum can make faith-buildingopportunities for donors their first priority; act on theirconfidence in God's abundance; draw from their theologicaltradition in their approach to fundraising; involve a vitalcross-section of staff in planning; and cultivate spirituallymature leadership. With this innovative approach, Growing Givers' Hearts empowersreaders to work in spiritually grounded, deeply creative, andprofessionally satisfying ways. Fundraisers in any Christianorganization will find extraordinary insights in this importantguide.
R.T. Kendall believes that all Christians are called to tithe. What is more, he is convinced that the church would be revitalized and the world transformed if all Christians did begin to tithe. Dr. Kendall combines this bold claim with the biblical, theological, and practical implications of tithing. Tithing is sometimes regarded as threatening, but it emerges in this book as both challenging and inspiring. Numerous exciting testimonies are told, all demonstrating in individual lives the principle that underlies tithing. "You cannot outgive the Lord."
Christian leaders often feel uneasy about asking others for money. Rather than viewing fundraising as a necessary but unpleasant task in supporting spiritual endeavors, Henri Nouwen asserts that fundraising is a ministry. The question that Christians must explore is their relationship with money and whether they find security in God or their possessions. Drawing on many lessons from scripture, Nouwen emphasizes that individuals must be moved to a common vision in order to feel generous in giving to a fundraising effort. For the act of fundraising involves not only the gift of money to a common goal but also the gifts of involvement, energy, and prayer for a common mission. Second Corinthians 9:8 states: "God is able to provide you with every blessing in abundance, so that by always having enough of everything, you may share abundantly every good work."
Even though the local church isn't in "business" per se, it is still a business--the Lord's business. This valuable church reference is divided into four sections: law, finance, facilities, and personnel.
What's new about this third edition of the long respected and often used Church Administration Handbook? In addition to time and technological-sensitive updates to the basic organizational details, editor Bruce Powers writes: "The needs of people and churches have continued to change, with questions now being raised about the quality of congregational life, nature of leadership, and responsibility for ministry among all believers . . . As we have prepared this edition, we have sought to address five primary needs.nbsp; 1. Leadership skills and administrative tools that can be adapted for use in a variety of contexts from traditional to contemporary, from rural to urban, and from unicultural to multicultural settings; 2. Spiritual formation that relates to all of life (from birth to death); 3. Mission consciousness (in community, regionally, nationally, and globally); 4. Ministry of all believers (particularly calling out and equipping vocational, bivocational, and lay ministers); and 5. Leadership competence (the ability to inspire, motivate, and equip the saints for the work of ministry)."
Too often we think stewardship concerns only the money we give to the church. But in the image of the steward, the Bible offers a perspective on our entire relationship with God. Here we have a full and fresh picture of being Jesus' disciples and living life in all its fullness.R. Scott Rodin unpacks what it means for us to be stewards in the kingdom of the triune God of grace. This theology of the abundant life, which encompasses all aspects of our world, our life and our possessions, begins, appropriately, with the very being of our gracious Creator God. From there Rodin dismantles the myth of the two kingdoms, one that is under God's control and one that is not. In so doing he crafts a portrait of faithful stewards who live as God's children in the one reality that is marked by death behind us and life ahead.The book concludes with a discussion of the roles of church and family as stewards while providing a theology for the Christian fundraiser.Here is a unique and much needed book on a neglected biblical theme.
This book examines the basis of sound biblical stewardship as applied to the practical aspects of budgeting, reporting and control of expenses in a church. It suggests a remuneration policy for pastors and other paid workers, outlines the responsibilities of members in supporting their church and includes a suggested spreadsheet for budgeting and reporting.
A very small percentage of Christians tithe faithfully. While many argue that they can't afford to give money to the church, few realize the importance of giving of their other resources. Gifts of time and talent are equally important to help advance the kingdom.The Cycle of Victorious Giving outlines a positive plan for stewardship in all areas of life. Stan Toler shows Christians the relationship between giving, faith, spiritual growth, and ultimately, an eternal reward. The phases of the cycle are: Trust to LiveCommit to Grow Delight to GiveRest to Inherit
It all starts with mission and purpose.' These opening words by author Mike Batts sum up the proper role of financial administration in the church--giving proper weight to this critically important and unique calling. Church Finance: The Church Leader's Guide to Financial Operations provides you with the information and resources to successfully lead your church's financial operations in keeping with your church's unique mission and purpose.
Many pastors conceive of the church budget as primarily a financial tool, but in fact it is primarily a pastoral tool. A church's philosophy of ministry is locked into its budget, and so the budget will either stifle or accelerate any attempts to move a congregation toward a biblical model of church health. As such, the church budget is a far more potent pastoral tool than many church leaders realize. Budgeting for a Healthy Church examines each section of the budget in light of Biblical principles to show how a church budget can lock in healthy approaches to ministry. Whereas most books on church budgeting are "how" books, explaining how the budgeting process should work, this is a "what" book, helping church leaders determine the pastoral implications of what they choose to fund in their budgets.
Our entire understanding of funding and sustainability must change. Tithes and offerings alone are no longer enough to provide for the needs of the local church, enable pastors to pursue opportunities, or sustain long-term ministry impact. Growing financial burdens on the middle class, marginal increases in contributions to religious organizations, shifting generational attitudes toward giving, and changing demographics are having a negative impact on church budgets. Given that someday local churches may be required to pay taxes on the property they own and/or lose the benefit of soliciting tax-deductible gifts, the time to pivot is now. What's needed is disruptive innovation in church economics. For churches to not only survive but thrive in the future, leaders must learn to leverage assets, bless the community, empower entrepreneurs, and create multiple streams of income to effectively fund mission. You'll learn why you should and how to do so in The Coming Revolution in Church Economics.